Administration ticket for Google analytics: OLMIS-3068

OLMIS-3068 is one of the next few tickets we would like to work on to support Administration. This ticket is just a stub, and I’m reaching out for feedback on what we can include in the scope for the 3.3 release (if we move this ticket up in priority). Please respond with suggestions on what we should include.

As an administrator I want to know:

• when users are logging into OpenLMIS and for how long

• when there are errors in the system so I can troubleshoot (What types of errors?)

Questions:

What other data is helpful for the admin to troubleshoot using Google Analytics to include in our 3.3 release?

Ben or Sebastian, do you have any feedback from working on Malawi, regarding what would be useful to add?

Hi Sam,

It’s definitely helpful to know how many users are logged into the system at the time you’re looking up the metric. If none are, then you know you can take the system down without affecting anyone abruptly. I’m pretty sure we already have this capability, though.

One thing we don’t have, and which Chemonics has asked for, are reliable metrics regarding which pages users visit the most. Because they’d like to know which parts of the system users are most focused on, it would make sense to gather metrics not just about page hit counts but also about how long users spend on each page.

If don’t already, I can definitely see the benefit of logging frontend (JavaScript related) errors.

I’m under the impression that we don’t collect data about page load times. If that’s so, I’d suggest prioritize it. It seems that the Core team has good performance benchmarks generated at build-time. It also seems, though, that knowing precisely what actual users are experiencing in the real world would be tremendously beneficial. Such data paired with stats about which pages users tend to visit could potentially help us target future UI optimization.

Thank you,
Ben

Hi Sam,